< Back
Festival Mural

CRUSH Walls // Empowering the community with Public Art

3 October 2018

From September 3rd to 9th, the 9th edition of the CRUSH Walls festival assembled a collection of local and international artists in Denver, Colorado. For 9 straight years, CRUSH Walls has used the medium of public art in order to embellish and diversify the urban landscape, centered around the idea of empowering artists.

 

The River North Art district, also known as the RiNo district, serves as the cultural and artistic hotbed of Denver, this is where CRUSH Walls has set its home. The festival is the brainchild of local artist Robin Munroe, it began as small urban art gathering but has now grown to new heights and stretches over 30 blocks, hosting a wide variety of cultural and artistic programming.

 

The six days of festivities featured a wide range of events, here are a few highlights of the 2018 edition.

Add Fuel & Jaune at the Juxtapoz Clubhouse

 

Serving as the opening night, a special curated exhibition of artwork and installations with the Juxtapoz clubhouse, which normally has its home-base in Wynwood but has now expanded to the RiNo district, took over an industrial warehouse. The event presented a massive, immersive installation that featured international urban artists, notably Laurence Vallières, Add Fuel, Faith XLVII, Marie-Claude Marquis and installations from artists such as Brett Flanigan, Kristin Farr, Oliver Hawk Holden, plus many more.

 

Kristin Farr at the Juxtapoz Clubhouse

 

The Bring Your Own Beamer event is an interactive activity that invited artists to bring their own projectors and to cast their work on a blank wall. The canvas would then get crushed with paint throughout the week.

 

Secret Walls

 

Secret walls featured the biggest live illustration battle. Equipped with a black marker and a blank wall, the artists had 90 minutes on the clock as they went head to head in a freestyle illustration battle.

 

Always collaborating with local creative spaces during the festival, art spaces and galleries along the RiNo district also hosted a number of exhibitions that featured work of artists participating in the 9th edition of CRUSH Walls. This was an opportunity to get up close and personal and a chance to learn more about the creative mind of the artists.

 

The main attraction of CRUSH Walls is the new murals that pop-up in RiNo during the week-long festival. Once again this year, local and international guest artists took on the mandate of beautifying the walls of the famous district.

 

Cryptik

©Instagrafite

 

Traces of the Cryptik movement made an appearance in Denver with another stunning piece title Sacred Land, featuring the signature mantrandala hand-style of the Californian-based muralist.

 

Shepard Fairey

©Rob Zagula

 

Neighbouring Cryptik, the art of Obey Giant by Shepard Fairey created the mural titled Power and Equality in an effort to push back against the forces of division and racism and also claim the support of public art.

 

Add Fuel

 

Where the east side and west side of the RiNo district connect, you can find Consensus, a new mural created by Portuguese artist Add Fuel. In addition to the recognizable azulejo tile design, Add Fuel incorporated reworked patterns inspired from cultures in Europe, the middle east and Africa, reflecting the diverse society that we live in.

 

Smithe 

©Instagrafite


Poni

©Instagrafite

 

In collaboration with Galeria Balneario, Mexican natives Smithe and Poni, each took on a wall that were decorated with the surrealism of Smithe and the feminine power of Poni.

Mike Giant, Patrick Kane Mcgregor & Jason Garcia

©Crush Walls

 

CRUSH Walls always looks to collaborate with the local arts as well. Artists like Jason Garcia, Mike Giant, and Patrick Kane McGregor combined their vision and talent to create of photorealistic rendering of a portrait by photographer James Stolzenbach.

 

Nina Simone

©Instagrafite

 

Detour’s mural once again drew inspiration from the African-American culture with a portrait of the iconic Nina Simone.

 

Birdcap

 

And the eclectic style of Birdcap made an appearance during the festival as he had the chance to produce a couple of murals in his hometown of Denver.


For the complete list of artists that participated in the 9th edition Crush Walls, visit 
crushwalls.org  –  We are looking forward to what the 10th anniversary of CRUSH Walls will produce.

 

Words by Rene Ricardo Bernal

 

Latest posts

Festival Mural

How The Worlds Of Art, Fashion And Design Celebrated 90 Years Of Mickey Mouse

To celebrate the icon’s 90th anniversary, artists, fashion labels and designers everywhere are releasing exclusive collections and exhibitions

Learn more +
Festival Mural

Ricardo Cavolo’s Limited-Edition Collaboration With Pub Burgundy Lion Is Back On The MURAL Boutique

Get hold of t-shirts, sweatshirts and scarves of the exclusive collection “Gol, Carajo!”, while supporting a good cause.

Learn more +
Festival Mural

Interview With Ron English

During his latest stay in Montreal to launch the show, our team had the opportunity to meet with him and discuss his journey as an artist, his…

Learn more +

< Retour
Festival Mural

CRUSH Walls // Empowering the community with Public Art

3 octobre 2018

Du 3 au 9 septembre, la 9e édition de CRUSH Walls a rassemblé à Denver un collectif d’artistes locaux et internationaux impressionant. Centré sur l’idée de donner un certain pouvoir aux artistes, cela fait neuf années consécutives que CRUSH Walls utilise l’art public comme médium artistique pour embellir et diversifier le paysage urbain de la capitale du Colorado

 

Le quartier River North Art, aussi connu sous le nom de RiNo, est le foyer artistique et culturel de Denver, c’est ici que CRUSH Walls connu ses débuts. Le festival est la création de l’artiste Robin Munro, qui a pris l’initiative de créer un rassemblement pour les arts urbains. Depuis, l’événement a pris de l’ampleur, s’étendant sur plusieurs coins de rue et produisant une programmation culturelle et artistique variée.

 

Les six jours de festivités ont mis en vedette un grand nombre d’activités, voici les faits saillants de l’édition 2018.

Add Fuel & Jaune à l’exposition Juxtapoz Clubhouse

 

Une exposition, spécialement conçue par Juxtapoz Clubhouse, a amorcé le festival en beauté dans un entrepôt industriel. Dans une expérience immersive, l’événement présentait des artistes urbains de renommée internationale incluant Laurence Vallière, Add Fuel, Faith XLVII, Marie-Claude Marquis ainsi que des installations venant d’artistes tels que Brett Flannigan, Kristin Farr, Oliver Hawk Holden, et plusieurs autres artistes de talent.

 

Kristin Farr à l’exposition Juxtapoz Clubhouse

 

La soirée Bring Your Own Beamer a amener une touche d’interaction avec un concept original invitant des artistes pour un “Jam” de projecteur. Des oeuvres étaient ainsi projetées sur les murs pour la soirée d’ouverture avant d’être peinte au cours de la semaine suivante.

 

Secret Walls

 

Le classique Secret Walls est revenu pour un face à face entre deux artistes équipé d’un marqueur noir, un canevas et 90 minutes au chronomètre. Les artistes se sont ainsi affrontés dans une compétition d’illustration au style libre jusqu’à ce que le public choisisse un gagnant.

 

En collaboration avec des espaces créatifs locaux et des galeries dans le RiNo district, le festival a présenté plusieurs expositions qui ont mis en vedette l’œuvre des artistes qui ont participé à la 9e édition de CRUSH Walls. Ce fut une opportunité d’avoir un regard plus intime  intime et en connaître plus sur l’esprit créatif des artistes.

 

L’attraction principale de CRUSH Walls demeur les murales qui font leur apparition dans le RiNo durant la semaine du festival. Cette année à une fois de plus présenté des artistes locaux et des invités international qui ont eu le mandat de d’embellir les murs du fameux district.

 

Cryptik

©Instagrafite

 

Cryptik a laissé ses traces à Denver avec le style emblématique de ses Mantradalas provenant des l’artiste californien, présentant une œuvre époustouflante intitulé Sacred Land.

 

Shepard Fairey

©Rob Zagula

 

Avoisinant l’oeuvre de Cryptik, la marque distinctive de Obey Giant par Shepard Fairey a donné vie à Power and Equality. Une oeuvre qui porte le message de repousser contre le racisme et le forces qui tentent nous diviser, tout en affirmant son appui à l’art public

 

Add Fuel

 

Où l’est et l’ouest du district RiNo se rencontre, vous pouvez trouver Consensus, une murale créé par l’artiste portugais Add Fuel. En plus du design azulejo, Add Fuel a été inspiré par des motifs venant des cultures de l’Europe de l’Est, le moyen-orient et l’Afrique, reflétant notre société qui est issue de plusieurs cultures différentes.

 

Smithe 

©Instagrafite


Poni

©Instagrafite

 

En collaboration avec Galerie Balneario, Smithe et Poni ont chacun pris d’assaut un mur qui fut décoré par l’art surréaliste de Smithe et la puissance féminine de Poni.

 

Mike Giant, Patrick Kane Mcgregor & Jason Garcia

©Crush Walls

 

CRUSH Walls continue sa collaboration avec les artistes locaux alors que Jason Garcia, Mike Giant et Patrick Kane McGregor ont combinés leur vision et talent pour une création photoréaliste d’un portrait pris par le photographe James Stolzenbach.

 

Nina Simone

©Instagrafite

 

La murale de Détour a encore été inspiré par la culture Afro-Américaine avec un portrait de Nina Simone, une icône de la musique.

 

Birdcap

 

Le style éclectique de Birdcap a fait une apparition durant le festival alors qu’il a eu la chance de produire des oeuvres dans sa ville natale.

Pour la liste complète des artistes qui ont participés a la 9e édition de CRUSH Walls, visitez crushwalls.org – Nous avons hâte de voir ce que le 10e anniversaire de CRUSH Walls nous réserve.

 

Texte par Rene Ricardo Bernal

 

 

Derniers articles

Festival Mural

Résumé de Pow! Wow! Worcester 2018

Ce qui rend ce festival aussi unique et admirable, c’est son objectif de supporter et d’inspirer la jeunesse de Worcester. Plusieurs des…

En savoir +
Festival Mural

#TravelTuesday – Barcelone

Dans le monde de l’art et du design, Barcelone est souvent associée à des géants de l’art moderne comme Miró, Gaudí, Dalí et Picasso. Pourtant…

En savoir +
Festival Mural

Cryptik – Un art public sacré

L’esthétique des mandalas, ainsi que leur valeur spirituelle ont grandement inspirés la création des Mantradalas de l’artiste de r…

En savoir +