< Back
Festival Mural

Studio Visit – Fvckrender

12 September 2018

Post working with Fvckrender on MURAL 2018’s main stage design and the MURAL Live Sessions, we met up him at his studio to learn more about his inspirations, his personal challenge to create renderings everyday and his transitions between 3D design, VJing and stage design.

Can you present yourself in a few words?

I skateboard and 3D design. In fact, I don’t know exactly what I’m doing, I’m working on so many different projects; album covers, visuals for shows, ads for companies, it varies all the time and that’s what I like.

You challenged yourself to create a new 3D rendering everyday and you have now surpassed the 1000 days you originally wanted to obtain, can you tell us more about this challenge?

This challenge is how I got so passionate about 3D. It allowed me to learn and produce continually until this day. It’s now part of my routine, like brushing my teeth. It’s been 1062 days since I began and I’m probably going to continue until I die from a cancer or something. I can’t see myself stopping! I always have at least 15 minutes in my day, there is nobody who doesn’t have 15 minutes in his day to be creative, you just need to take the time.

 

Were there moments when you were close to giving up?

No, I’ve never missed a day. The only time where I stopped was when I obtain my 1000 days initial objective. I was supposed to stop then, so I took a 2-days break and I told myself “Fvck off, I’m continuing.” I’ve never even tried to cheat. The challenge I gave myself was to work and try every day, that’s what allowed me to learn by myself with a certain self-discipline. My only teacher was Youtube, working by trial-and-error.

Were you expecting so much success so fast?

Not at all. It all started when I was still working in the restaurant business, and I was doing this for fun, as a pastime. I also hurt myself at the time, so I gave myself this challenge at first simply to pass time.

 

What’s your artistic approach? Do you go by from a picture or a render that you’ve already done or does it all come from your imagination?

Often, I start with a blank canvas and I use an inspiration, something from my daily life. For example, there are time where I’ll take 3 things I saw during the day and I merge them together: I’ll take a plant, a light reflection effect, a stone and I create a render from this. I also sometimes start with a sphere that I begin sculpting before I integrate it to an environment and then I work on it until I’m satisfied with the result or until I don’t have any more time. There are event times where I’ll wake up after a dream and I think to myself “Oh shit, this could be look awesome in 3D”.

Where do you find inspiration to create your visuals?

Previously, I was inspired a lot by what I saw online, but it was saturating my creations with basic elements and it didn’t align me in the direction I wanted to take. Then, I unfollowed all 3D artists I was following on Instagram to follow only dog and skateboarding accounts. Now, I’m more inspired by what I see in the streets and the elements from my daily life. I had a big phase where I was really into mangas and anime and regularly in my artworks I would try to create an in-between. I would take environments that you could find in mangas and bring a realistic, almost surreal aesthetic to it.

I also really like construction sites’ aesthetic. It may sound a bit weird, but I’ve been liking it since I was young. I like daydreaming about construction sites; its tools, its machinery, its yellow and black colour palette. I think that Tonka tractors with which I was playing as a young boy really have marked my present visual universe. Then, when I got older, I would often go take pictures on construction sites. I still do it now, in fact!

 

How did you get the idea of transposing your digital creations in reality with all your stage design and VJing projects that you’re accumulating?

It started all with Boycott, who introduced me to VJing with a party organised by the Moonshine Collective an evening where the special guest was Kaytranada. I helped out and it made me want to continue VJing and doing more of these types of projects afterwards. I got interested in all the possibilities I was offered. It was almost a revelation to me to see that all of the ideas I could create on my computer could take on an all other dimension. Then, this year, I launched Fvckrender Studio with my friend Félix Poirier who’s more manual and knows how electricity works and what the security norms are. We designed Joe Rocca’s show together. Since then, we’ve teamed up for everything stage design related.

 

Is there a project you’re particularly proud of?

To this day, I think  the 3D visuals I created for Flying Lotus’ 3D tour in collaboration with Strangeloop Studio, was really one of the most interesting projects I have conceptualized even if it wasn’t my biggest project. Creating content dedicated to be broadcasted on a 3D screen when you don’t have the equipment to visualise the final render at home was one of the biggest challenges I have faced.

As for the stage design project I managed for MURAL, I had a lot of fun with fences, chains and neons, satisfying my obsession with construction sites. I then took the same concept for the MURAL Live Sessions and reused the same components for the pop-up shop I designed for Snails, recently.

 

What’s your next challenge?

Getting a million followers for Techno Steeve, Lil Miquela’s future soulmate. He’s a virtual influencer. A 37 year old dude who doesn’t realise his age, and wants to become the hottest guy of Montreal’s nightlife. Unfortunately, he’s having a hard time as he’s not from Montreal and has difficulty introducing himself to the world, but he’s making efforts to work on himself, dress well, and being good with everybody around him. I think he has a bit of a problem with respect.

More seriously, at the Fvckrender Studio, we have big projects coming up. I’m lucky I have a good notoriety with my Instagram, so there are more and more people contacting me and I have the luxury of being able to choose my projects and do more of what I like.

Latest posts

Festival Mural

Cryptik – Sacred Street Art

The Mandalas’ aesthetic and spiritual value were a great source of inspiration for the creation of Mantradalas by street artist Cryptik.

Learn more +
Festival Mural

#TravelTuesday – Hong Kong

Filled with world-class art galleries and exhibitions, Hong Kong is known as a premier destination for art where tradition and innovation live…

Learn more +
Festival Mural

Johnny Cash at Folsom Prison by Shepard Fairey

As we celebrated, last month, the 50th anniversary of Johnny Cash’s Live at Folsom Prison album, renowned artist Shepard Fairey took over Fols…

Learn more +

< Retour
Festival Mural

Visite de studio – Fvckrender

12 septembre 2018

Après avoir travaillé avec Fvckrender sur la scénographie de la scène principale du Festival MURAL 2018 et pour les MURAL Live Sessions, nous sommes partis à sa rencontre dans son studio pour en apprendre plus sur ses inspirations, son défi d’un rendu par jour et son passage du design 3D au VJing puis à la scénographie.

Peux tu te présenter en quelques mots?

 

 

Je fais du skate et du design 3D. En fait, je ne sais pas exactement ce que je fais, je fais tellement d’affaires différentes. Ça peut être des pochettes d’album, des visuels de shows, des publicités pour des compagnies, etc. Ça varie à tous les jours et c’est ça que j’aime.

Tu t’es lancé le défi de réaliser un rendu 3D par jour et tu as maintenant dépasser les 1 000 que tu souhaitais faire au début. Peux-tu nous en dire plus sur ce défi?

C’est de là que ma passion pour la 3D s’est vraiment développée. Ça m’a permi d’apprendre et de produire continuellement jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Ça fait partie de ma routine maintenant, c’est rendu comme de me brosser les dents. Ça fait maintenant 1 062 jours et je penses surement continuer jusqu’à temps que je meurs d’un cancer, je me vois mal arrêter! J’ai toujours 15 minutes dans ma journée, il n’y a personne qui n’a pas 15 minutes dans sa journée pour être créatif, il faut juste que tu prennes le temps.

 

Est ce qu’il y’a eu un moment où tu étais proche de craquer?

Non, je n’ai jamais manqué une journée. La seule fois où je me suis arrêté c’est quand j’ai atteint les 1 000 jours. J’étais censé m’arrêter là, donc j’ai pris une pause de 2 jours puis je me suis dit ‘’Fvck off, je vais continuer!” Ça ne m’est même jamais arrivé de tricher. Le défi que je me suis donné c’était de travailler et d’essayer à tous les jours, c’est ça qui m’a permis d’apprendre par moi-même avec une certaine auto-discipline. Mon seul professeur ça a été Youtube et la méthode de essai-erreur.

Est-ce que tu t’attendais à avoir autant de succès aussi rapidement?

Pas du tout, non. Tout ça a commencé quand je travaillais encore dans la restauration et ça m’occupe juste pour le fun pendant mon temps libre. Je m’étais aussi blessé à ce moment-là et je me suis lancé ce défi tout simplement pour passer le temps au début.

 

Quel est ton processus? Est-ce que tu pars d’une photo, d’un rendu que tu as déjà fait ou bien tout sort de ton imagination?

Souvent, je pars d’un canevas blanc et je me sers d’une inspiration, de quelque chose de mon quotidien. Ça m’arrive de prendre 3 choses que j’ai vu dans ma journée, puis je les fusionne ensemble. Par exemple, je prends une plante, un effet de réflexion de la lumière, une pierre et je crée un rendu a partir de ça. Sinon, ça m’arrive aussi de partir d’une sphère que je commence par sculpter avant de l’intégrer dans un environnement. Puis, je peaufine le tout  jusqu’à ce que je sois satisfait du résultat ou bien que je n’aie plus le temps. Ou encore, je vais me réveiller d’un rêve et me dire ‘’Oh shit ça serait sick de recréer ça en 3D’’.

Où est-ce que tu vas puiser ton inspiration pour créer tes visuels?

Avant, je m’inspirais beaucoup de ce que je voyais en ligne, mais ça saturait mes créations avec des éléments basiques et ça ne m’enlignait pas dans la direction que je voulais prendre. Puis, je me suis désabonné de tous les artistes 3D que je suivais sur Instagram pour suivre seulement des pages de chiens et de skate. Maintenant je m’inspire plus de ce que je vois dans la rue et des éléments de mon quotidien.

J’ai eu une grosse phase où j’étais à fond dans les mangas et les animés et régulièrement dans mes oeuvre j’essayais de créer un entre-deux. Je prends les environnements que tu pourrais retrouver dans les mangas, mais je leur donne une esthétique réaliste, voir surréelle.

J’aime aussi vraiment l’esthétique des chantiers de constructions. Ça peut paraître vraiment bizarre, mais j’aime ça depuis que je suis tout jeune. J’aime bien divaguer sur l’imaginaire des chantier; les outils, les machineries, les teintes de noir et de jaune. Je pense que les tracteurs Tonka avec lesquels je jouais étant petit ont vraiment marqué mon univers visuel actuel. Puis, plus grand j’allais souvent prendre des photos sur les terrains en construction. Je le fais même encore aujourd’hui!

 

Comment t’es venu l’envie de transposer tes créations digitales dans la réalité avec tous les projets de stage design et de VJing que tu accumules récemment?

Ça a commencé avec Boycott qui m’a introduit au VJing avec une soirée organisée par le collectif Moonshine où l’invité spécial était Kaytranada. Elle m’avait demandé de l’aider et ça m’a vraiment donné l’envie de continuer le VJing et de faire plus ce genre de projets par la suite. Je me suis intéressé à toutes les possibilités qui s’offraient à moi. Ça a vraiment été une révélation de voir toutes les idées que je pouvais créer derrière mon écran pouvaient prendre une toute autre dimension. Puis cette année j’ai lancé Fvckrender Studio avec mon ami Félix Poirier qui est plus manuel et qui connaît bien l’électricité et les normes de sécurité. On a monté le show de Joe Rocca ensemble. Depuis ça, on s’est allié pour tout ce qui est stage design jusqu’à présent.

 

Est-ce qu’il y a un projet qui t’as particulièrement marqué?

Encore à ce jour, je pense que c’est le 3D tour de Flying Lotus pour lequel j’ai créé des visuel 3D, en collaboration avec Strangeloop Studio. C’était vraiment un des projets les plus intéressant à conceptualiser même si ce n’était pas mon plus gros. Créer du contenu voué à être diffusé sur un écran 3D quand t’as pas l’équipement pour visualiser le rendu final à la maison c’était quand même un gros défi. Ça faisait pas longtemps que je faisait ça en plus à ce moment-là.

En ce qui concerne le projet de stage design sur lequel j’ai travaillé pour MURAL 2018, je me suis bien amusé avec des clôtures, de la chaîne et des néon, qui ont satisfait mon obsession pour les chantiers de construction. J’ai ensuite repris un peu le même concept pour les MURAL Live Sessions et repris certains des mêmes éléments pour le pop-up shop de Snails, dernièrement.

 

Quel est ton prochain défi?

Aller chercher un million d’abonnés avec Techno Steeve, la futur âme soeur de Lil Miquela. C’est un influenceur virtuel. Un dude de 37 ans qui se rend pas compte de son âge. Puis, il veut devenir le gars hot du nightlife à Montréal, mais il a de la misère parce qu’il vient pas de Montréal et il a de la misère à s’introduire au monde. Il fait des efforts pour travailler sur lui-même, bien s’habiller et être gentil avec tout le monde, mais je pense qu’il a un petit problème de respect.

Sinon, plus sérieusement, avec Fvckrender Studio on a des gros projets de stage design qui s’en viennent. J’ai de la chance d’avoir une bonne notoriété avec mon Instagram, donc il y a de plus en plus de personnes qui me contactent, et maintenant j’ai le luxe de pouvoir choisir mes projets et de m’orienter vers ce que j’aime.

Derniers articles

Festival Mural

Comment les mondes des arts, de la mode et du design ont célébré les 90 ans de Mickey Mouse

Pour célébrer le 90e anniversaire de cette icône, artistes, marques de mode et designers de partout ont lancé des collections et des expositio…

En savoir +
Festival Mural

La collaboration édition limitée de Pub Burgundy Lion et Ricardo Cavolo est de retour sur la Boutique MURAL

Mettez la main sur des chemises, des t-shirts et des écharpes de la ligne “Gol, Carajo!”, tout en appuyant une bonne cause.

En savoir +
Festival Mural

Entrevue avec Ron English

Durant son dernier voyage à Montréal pour lancer l’exposition, notre équipe a eu la chance de le rencontrer et de discuter avec lui de son par…

En savoir +