< Back
Festival Mural

#TravelTuesday – Hong Kong

11 September 2018

On the cover: Artwork by Okuda, made as part of HKwalls 2016 |  Photo by Cheung Chi Wai

Street art has emerged as a way for cities to revive and rejuvenate neighborhoods; a means for artists to express themselves in public space; a platform for activists to broadcast their messages, and a medium for brands to fly their colours. From Miami to Lisbon, Melbourne, and everywhere in between, the world has become a giant canvas to discover.

MURAL Blog introduces #TravelTuesday, a street art destination content series, where each piece will explore an city’s unique street art culture.

Filled with world-class art galleries and exhibitions, Hong Kong is known as a premier destination for art where tradition and innovation live in perfect balance. The city has a lot of concrete canvases up for grabs, creating opportunities for big and bold projects. A few recent initiatives, such as HKwalls and L’Épicerie Fine Gallery, have made HK a must stop for urban art enthusiasts.

HKwalls, hosted in a different neighbourhood every year since 2014,during Hong Kong’s Art Month, welcomes dozens of local and international talents to paint the city’s iconic skyline. In addition to the dozens of public artworks being created live in the streets, the organization also hosts exhibitions, film screenings, public workshops and more.

Artwork by Alex Senna, made as part of HKwalls.

Artwork by Zoie Lam, made as part of HKwalls 2018. | Photo by Kyra Campbell.

Artwork by Clogtwo, made as part of HKwalls | Photo by Wai Lok.

Founded by Baptiste Droniou, a French street art enthusiast who wanted to share his passion with Hong Kong’s vast population, L’Épicerie Fine Gallery is known for giving opportunities to artists to create their work in the street. Hosting one-of-a-kind street art exhibitions, collaborating with many local restaurants and businesses and representing numerous street artists, the gallery has allowed the city’s street art culture to diversify and grow.

Artwork by Julien Raynaud, organised by L’Épicerie Fine Gallery.

Artwork by Stern Rockwell, commissioned by the Travelodge Hotel and organised by L’Épicerie Fine Gallery.

Here are some other must-see street art you should look for if you’re planning a visit to this busy city or online from wherever you are:

The Hollywood Road G.O.D. Store

Originally a commissioned piece for lifestyle brand G.O.D.’s store, Alex Croft’s mural depicting old townhouses has become iconic and might be one of the most photographed street art pieces of the city.

Jerkface’s Astrocat

Make sure to stop in Wan Chai to see one of New York’s most renowned street artists, Jerkface. Jerkface’s characteristic cartoon mashup mural depicts both Astro Boy and Felix the Cat.


Shepard Fairey’s contribution to Project C Change

As part of Project C Change, Shepard Fairey contributed to the social enterprise’s mission with his characteristic war paint in red, white, black and yellow. Find this on Ki Ling Lane, in Sai Ying Pun.

Invader’s invasions

French artist, Invader, is no stranger to the city. His latest trip to Hong Kong left the city with 32 new artworks, most notably in Harbour City. Unfortunately, most have been removed, but you definitely check around for the few that remain.

Latest posts

Festival Mural

Cryptik – Sacred Street Art

The Mandalas’ aesthetic and spiritual value were a great source of inspiration for the creation of Mantradalas by street artist Cryptik.

Learn more +
Festival Mural

Studio Visit – Fvckrender

Post working with Fvckrender on MURAL 2018’s main stage design and the MURAL Live Sessions, we met up him at his studio to learn more about hi…

Learn more +
Festival Mural

Johnny Cash at Folsom Prison by Shepard Fairey

As we celebrated, last month, the 50th anniversary of Johnny Cash’s Live at Folsom Prison album, renowned artist Shepard Fairey took over Fols…

Learn more +

< Retour
Festival Mural

#TravelTuesday – Hong Kong

11 septembre 2018

Sur la couverture : Oeuvre par Okuda, produite dans le cadre de HKwalls 2016 |  Photo par Cheung Chi Wai

Au fil des ans, le street art est devenu une façon de faire revivre certains quartiers, une façon pour les artistes de s’exprimer dans l’espace public, une façon pour les activistes de faire passer un message, une façon pour les marques de montrer leurs couleurs et plus. De Miami à Lisbonne, en passant par Melbourne, le monde est devenu un immense canevas à découvrir.

Le blog du Festival Mural présente #TravelTuesday, une série de contenus sur les destinations street art incontournables, dans laquelle chaque article explorera la culture d’art public d’une ville.

Bourdonnant de galeries d’art de renom et d’expositions impressionnantes, Hong Kong est reconnu comme une destination de première classe pour l’art, là où tradition et innovation s’entremêlent parfaitement. La ville a d’ailleurs beaucoup de canevas de béton prêts à être recouverts des oeuvres les plus gigantesques et audacieuses. Quelques récentes initiatives, comme HKwalls et L’Épicerie Fine Gallery ont transformé HK en un arrêt incontournable pour les fans d’art urbain.

HKwalls, présenté dans un quartier différent chaque année depuis 2014, pendant le mois de l’art de Hong Kong, accueille une douzaine de talents locaux et internationaux pour peindre cette emblématique jungle urbaine. En plus de la douzaine d’oeuvres d’art publiques qui sont créées dans les rues, l’organisation prévoit aussi des expositions, des projections de film, des ateliers publics et plus.

Oeuvre par Alex Senna, produite dans le cadre de HKwalls.

Oeuvre par Zoie Lam, produite dans le cadre de HKwalls 2018. | Photo par Kyra Campbell.

Oeuvre par Clogtwo, produite dans le cadre de HKwalls | Photo par Wai Lok

Fondée par Baptiste Droniou, un fan d’art de rue français qui voulait partager sa passion avec l’immense population de Hong Kong, L’Épicerie Fine Gallery est reconnu pour fournir les artistes en opportunités pour créer des oeuvres dans la rue. Organisant des expositions de street art uniques, collaborant avec des nombreux restaurants et commerces locaux et représentant plusieurs artistes de rue, la galerie a permi à la culture du street art de la ville de se diversifier et de grandir.

Oeuvre par Julien Raynaud, organisé par L’Épicerie Fine Gallery.

Oeuvre par Stern Rockwell, commandé par le Travelodge Hotel et organisé par L’Épicerie Fine Gallery.

En plus des oeuvres faites dans le cadre de HKwalls et de celles produites par L’Épicerie Fine Gallery, voici quelques oeuvres incontournables que vous devriez rechercher dans cette ville animée ou en ligne, peu importe d’où vous être :

La boutique G.O.D. sur Hollywood Road

Originellement commandée par la boutique de la marque lifestyle G.O.D., la murale d’Alex Croft présentant de vieilles maisons en rangée est devenue emblématique et est maintenant surement l’une des oeuvres d’art public les plus photographiées de la ville.  

L’Astrocat de Jerkface

Ne manquez pas de faire un arrêt dans Wan Chai pour voir l’oeuvre d’un des artistes de rue les plus connus de New York. La murale met en vedette un autre de ses classiques mashup de dessins animés, mélangeant cette fois Astro Boy et Felix the Cat.

La contribution de Shepard Fairey à Project C Change

Dans le cadre de Project C Change, Shepard Fairey a contribué à la mission de l’entreprise sociale avec une autres de ces oeuvres de guerre paintes en rouge, noir et jaune. Retrouvez celle-ci sur Ki Ling Lane, dans Sai Ying Pun.

Les invasions d’Invader

L’artiste français, Invader, est loin d’être étranger à la ville. Son dernier voyage à Hong Kong a laissé à la ville avec 32 nouvelles oeuvres, plus précisément dans Harbour City. Malheureusement, la plupart ont déjà été effacées depuis, mais quelques unes peuvent encore être observées.

Derniers articles

Festival Mural

Comment les mondes des arts, de la mode et du design ont célébré les 90 ans de Mickey Mouse

Pour célébrer le 90e anniversaire de cette icône, artistes, marques de mode et designers de partout ont lancé des collections et des expositio…

En savoir +
Festival Mural

La collaboration édition limitée de Pub Burgundy Lion et Ricardo Cavolo est de retour sur la Boutique MURAL

Mettez la main sur des chemises, des t-shirts et des écharpes de la ligne “Gol, Carajo!”, tout en appuyant une bonne cause.

En savoir +
Festival Mural

Entrevue avec Ron English

Durant son dernier voyage à Montréal pour lancer l’exposition, notre équipe a eu la chance de le rencontrer et de discuter avec lui de son par…

En savoir +