< Back
Festival Mural

Unframed, episode 6: Ben Johnston

2 August 2018

Unframed concludes its Ontario series of interviews by exploring Ben Johnston’s incredibly precise artistic process. The Canadian artist recently revisited his South African hometown a couple years ago, returning with an appreciation of the artistic effervescence characterising North America.

 

In the span of just one filming of his Unframed episode, Ben Johnston had just completed over 30 projects. The Toronto-based artist never seems to stop, “A lot of time, I think that when you’re under pressure, that’s when the best ideas come. I think I add more projects to my schedule, so that happens”.

 

Describing himself as very meticulous and precise individual, his typographical artworks are near-perfection: “I like everything to be perfect. So, even if it’s brush lettering or, you know, something that looks like it’s messy, it’s worked out perfectly beforehand. It’s about keeping that level of perfection and pushing it each time as well. You gotta make sure that it’s always upgrading,” he claims.

 

Learn more about the artist’s artistic approach here.

Latest posts

Festival Mural

Recap of POW! WOW! Worcester 2018

What is so special about this festival though, is its dedication to encouraging the younger generation of Worcester. Many of the festival wall…

Learn more +
Festival Mural

CRUSH Walls // Empowering the community with Public Art

From September 3rd to 9th, the 9th edition of the CRUSH Walls festival assembled a collection of local and international artists in Denver, Co…

Learn more +
Festival Mural

#TravelTuesday – Barcelona

In the world of arts and design, Barcelona is often associated to the geants of modern art that are Miró, Gaudí, Dalí and Picasso. However, on…

Learn more +

< Retour
Festival Mural

Unframed, épisode 6 : Ben Johnston

2 août 2018

Unframed conclu sa série d’entrevues dans la métropole ontarienne en explorant la démarche artistique incroyablement précise de Ben Johnston. Ayant grandi en Afrique du Sud, l’artiste canadien est retourné dans sa ville natale il n’y a que quelques années, appréciant l’effervescence artistique qu’on retrouve en Amérique du Nord.

 

Ayant complété plus de 30 projets seulement pendant la période de tournage de l’épisode, l’artiste basé à Toronto n’arrête jamais. « Souvent, je pense que c’est lorsqu’on est sous pression qu’on a nos meilleures idées. Je pense que j’ajoute des projets à mon horaire, pour que ça arrive. », révèle-t-il.

 

Se décrivant comme très minutieux et précis, les oeuvres de typographie de Ben Johnston frôlent la perfection : « J’aime quand tout est parfait. Même quand c’est de calligraphie au pinceau ou quelque chose qui peut paraître brouillon, c’est parfaitement réfléchi au préalable. L’idée est de garder un certain niveau de perfection et de le repousser à chaque fois aussi. Il faut s’assurer de toujours s’améliorer. », affirme-t-il en entrevue.

 

Apprenez-en plus sur la démarche artistique de l’artiste ici.

Derniers articles

Festival Mural

Résumé de Pow! Wow! Worcester 2018

Ce qui rend ce festival aussi unique et admirable, c’est son objectif de supporter et d’inspirer la jeunesse de Worcester. Plusieurs des…

En savoir +
Festival Mural

CRUSH Walls // Empowering the community with Public Art

Du 3 au 9 septembre, la 9e édition de CRUSH Walls a rassemblé à Denver un collectif d’artistes locaux et internationaux impressionant. Centré …

En savoir +
Festival Mural

#TravelTuesday – Barcelone

Dans le monde de l’art et du design, Barcelone est souvent associée à des géants de l’art moderne comme Miró, Gaudí, Dalí et Picasso. Pourtant…

En savoir +