< Back
Festival Mural

Unframed, episode 4: BirdO

12 July 2018

Ontario’s city capital is often perceived as a very serious and conservative city. We tour the vast concrete jungle of Toronto in Unframed’s next three episodes while exploring other perceptions of the city. Challenging the creative quo, we delve into the stories of three Toronto-based artists: BirdO, Ness Lee and Ben Johnston.

In this week’s episode, enter BirdO aka Jerry Rugg’s world. While he likes to stay anonymous under his audacious bird mask, his murals featuring brightly-hued surrealistic creatures definitely don’t go unnoticed.

Inspired by the friendly competition amongst all the amazing artists of the city, the Saskatchewan-native originally moved to Toronto to become an actor. He was introduced later to the street art scene and was instantly hooked — colouring not only the streets of Toronto, but also those of many other cities around the world,  “Once you cross that line and start to participate in the graffiti movement, it’s over for you, you’re addicted. Just instant addiction.” He explains.

Learn more about the artist’s artistic approach here.

Latest posts

Festival Mural

Cryptik – Sacred Street Art

The Mandalas’ aesthetic and spiritual value were a great source of inspiration for the creation of Mantradalas by street artist Cryptik.

Learn more +
Festival Mural

Studio Visit – Fvckrender

Post working with Fvckrender on MURAL 2018’s main stage design and the MURAL Live Sessions, we met up him at his studio to learn more about hi…

Learn more +
Festival Mural

#TravelTuesday – Hong Kong

Filled with world-class art galleries and exhibitions, Hong Kong is known as a premier destination for art where tradition and innovation live…

Learn more +

< Retour
Festival Mural

Unframed, épisode 4 : BirdO

12 juillet 2018

Alors que Toronto est souvent perçue comme une ville très sérieuse et conservatrice, les trois prochains épisodes d’Unframed nous prouve tout le contraire en explorant les histoires de trois artistes basés dans la capitale ontarienne : BirdO, Ness Lee et Ben Johnston.

Dans l’épisode de cette semaine, entrez dans l’univers de BirdO aka Jerry Rugg. Alors qu’il aime rester anonyme en dessous de son audacieux masque d’oiseau, ses murales mettant de l’avant des créatures surréalistes aux teintes éclatantes, elles, ne passent définitivement pas inaperçues.

Inspiré par la compétition amicale entre tous les incroyables artistes de la ville, l’artiste canadien a d’abord emménagé à Toronto pour devenir un acteur et pour les opportunités que la ville promet. Il a été introduit à l’art urbain plus tard et a rapidement eu la piqûre, colorant maintenant non seulement les rues de Toronto, mais aussi celles de plusieurs autres villes à travers le monde.  « Quand tu franchis cette ligne et que tu commences à participer au mouvement de graffiti, c’est fini pour toi, t’es accro. Une dépendance instantanée. », explique-t-il.

Apprenez-en plus sur la démarche artistique de l’artiste ici.

Derniers articles

Festival Mural

Cryptik – Un art public sacré

L’esthétique des mandalas, ainsi que leur valeur spirituelle ont grandement inspirés la création des Mantradalas de l’artiste de r…

En savoir +
Festival Mural

Visite de studio – Fvckrender

Après avoir travaillé avec Fvckrender sur la scénographie de la scène principale du Festival MURAL 2018 et pour les MURAL Live Sessions, nous …

En savoir +
Festival Mural

#TravelTuesday – Hong Kong

Bourdonnant de galeries d’art de renom et d’expositions impressionnantes, Hong Kong est reconnu comme une destination de première classe pour …

En savoir +