< Back
Festival Mural

Unframed, episode 3: Ricardo Cavolo

24 May 2018

To conclude the first Unframed series of episodes shot in Montreal, André Bathalon interviews the one and only Ricardo Cavolo. Mixing folk art, european-religious imagery and tribal arts with traditional and modern tattoo culture, Cavolo’s artistic signature is easy to recognize.

You’ve most certainly spotted his colourful designs on books, fashion pieces, tequila bottles or among other everyday objects, but it’s his murals that mostly captivate our collective imagination. If you’re from Montreal, you’ve definitely caught a glimpse of his playful mural on St- Laurent Boulevard, made as part of the MURAL Festival in 2017. Cavolo states that he would never have imagined exhibiting his art on the streets; now, he favours painting the larger-than-life canvases.  

Practically raised in a studio, Cavolo has always been exposed to the art world. Although, his journey as an artist wasn’t always smooth sailing, this never held him back: “After so many years working really hard on my projects as an artist, I got exhausted. I was working like a sausage machine, just doing something repetitive. I didn’t stop at all. On so many levels, physically and mentally. I never stopped.”, he explains. Ricardo Cavolo choose a “neanderthal” way of life, as he calls it.

Learn more about the Ricardo Cavolo’s artistic approach here.

Latest posts

Festival Mural

Recap of Under Pressure International Graffiti Festival’s 23rd Edition

Ranging from wildstyle graffiti pieces to image-based artworks, the walls of Ste-Catherine E. have once again been claimed and decorated until…

Learn more +
Festival Mural

XVII-XXI by Add Fuel at Station 16 Gallery

Next stop was Montreal to present his solo show, XVII-XXI, at Station 16 Gallery. The vernissage took place August 9th and the exhibition will…

Learn more +
Festival Mural

Lookbook Summer 2018

Discover the Summer collection of MURAL’s boutique, including its exclusive artist series.

Learn more +

< Retour
Festival Mural

Unframed, épisode 3 : Ricardo Cavolo

24 mai 2018

Pour conclure cette première série d’épisodes d’Unframed tournée à Montréal, André Bathalon interview, cette fois, nulle autre que Ricardo Cavolo. Mélangeant l’art folklorique, la culture du tatouage, l’iconographie religieuse européenne et les arts tribaux, les portraits de Cavolo sont reconnaissables entre mille.

Vous avez très certainement aperçu ses designs éclatants sur des livres, des créations vestimentaires, des bouteilles de Tequila ou d’autres objets du quotidiens, mais ce sont ses murales d’envergure colossale qui ont le plus marqué notre imaginaire. D’ailleurs, si vous êtes de Montréal, vous avez très certainement aperçu sa flamboyante murale sur le Boulevard Saint-Laurent, faite à la cinquième édition du Festival en 2017. Alors qu’il n’avait d’origine jamais considérer exposer son art dans les rues, c’est maintenant un des aspects qu’il préfère dans son travail d’artiste.

Pratiquement né dans un studio, Cavolo a toujours baigné dans le milieu des arts. Son parcours ne s’est, par contre, pas toujours déroulé simplement. “Après de nombreuses années à travailler très fort sur mon projet d’artiste, je me suis fatigué. Je travaillais comme une machine à saucisses à faire que des trucs répétitifs. Je ne m’arrêtais jamais. Sur plusieurs niveau, psychiquement et mentalement, je ne m’arrêtais jamais.” raconte-t-il, expliquant ce qu’il l’a amené à adopter un mode de vie “néandertal”, comme il le qualifie.

Découvrez-en plus sur la démarche artistique de Ricardo Cavolo ici.

Derniers articles

Festival Mural

Résumé de la 23e édition d’Under Pressure International Graffiti Festival

Du pur graffiti au œuvres plus imagées, les murs de la rue Sainte-Catherine ont une fois de plus été redécorés jusqu’au prochain Under Pressur

En savoir +
Festival Mural

XVII-XXI par Add Fuel à la Galerie Station 16

Le dernier arrêt était Montréal pour y présenter XVII-XXI, une exposition solo dans la Galerie Station 16. Le vernissage avait lieu le 9 août …

En savoir +
Festival Mural

Lookbook Été 2018

Découvrez la collection estivale de la boutique MURAL, incluant sa série imaginée par certains artistes du festival.

En savoir +