< Back
Festival Mural

#TravelTuesday: Reykjavik

12 March 2018

Over the years, street art has become a way for cities to revive neighborhoods; a means for artists to express themselves in a more public space; a platform for activists to broadcast their messages; a medium for brands to let their colours show. From Miami to Lisbon, to Melbourne, and everything in between, the world has become a large canvas to discover.
MURAL Festival Blog introduces #TravelTuesday, a street art destination content series, where each piece will explore an artsy city’s unique street art culture.

Despite being the world’s northernmost capital, Reykjavik’s freezing streets are distinctly filled with artworks, making it one of the most creative and dynamic scenes for street art. With increasingly available cheap flights going to Iceland, the city has welcomed an influx of tourists over the past years. First attracted by the country’s iconic and unique landscapes, many tourists have been delighted to also discover a prolific art scene. Indeed, the Icelandic capital hosts a handful of creative minds, from designers to musicians and writers. Iceland has often received high ranks as one of the most innovative countries. Now they can also boast Reykjavik as the ninth most instagrammed city for graffiti art by Bombing Science.

Reykjavik in the 90s was truly a prime time for street art. Fueled by the era’s hip hop scene, graffiti artists’ favorite spot was Hlíðargöngin, a tunnel where many left their mark. In an historical first, City official, Jóhann “Jói” Jónmundsson, made a deal with the city to sanction the tunnel a legal place for young artists to freely create and show their art. Nowadays, Jói is no longer the street art curator he once was. However, Jói is arguably a key influencer for the city to decide to bring street artists down Hlíðargöngin again as part of Reykjavík’s annual Culture Night to revitalize its walls.

Photo Credit: Albumm.is

The Heart Park in Reykjavik has also taken the spotlight as a prime location for street art. Due to the halting of construction on a shopping mall project in 2008 (as a consequence of the economic crisis) the Heart Park became the perfect canvas. As a street art landmark for the city, it includes a playground, a skate-park, a DJ booth, a stage, picnic tables and benches, thanks to three Icelandic artists: Tanya Pollock, Tómas Magnússon and Selur. The Heart Park served as a creative environment loved by families, musicians, skaters and more. Unfortunately, like many other urban artworks, this expansive art piece was demolished recently. Similar to galleries featuring a limited preview of an exhibition, street art must also evolve organically. Fortunately, many artists, tourists and locals have immortalised the site with innumerable pictures and videos.

Photo Credit: I Heart Reyjavik

Photo Credit: I Heart Reyjavik

Nowadays, many of the artworks you’ll be able to appreciate in Reykjavik were created during the Wall Poetry Festival, an initiative by Urban Nation. In 2015 and 2016, the Berliner organization invited ten international street artists and paired them with musicians performing at the Festival to create artworks inspired by their melodies and lyrics. Take a tour down Laugavenur and Hverfisgata streets to observe some of the wall poetry produced as part of the Airwaves Festival.

Photo Credit: Iceland Airwaves | Piece by Li Hill, inspired by John Grant’s “Pale Green Ghosts”.

Photo Credit: I Heart Reyjavik | Piece by D*Face, inspired by Agent Fresco.

Photo Credit: I Heart Reyjavik | Piece by Tankpetrol, inspired by Gus Gus’s “Over”.

Photo Credit: I Heart Reyjavik | Piece by DEIH XLF, inspired by Vök’s “Waterfall”.

Locally, you can also reflect on the many pieces of Reykjavik’s leading street artist, Selur, whose favorite subject matter are animals. In Selur’s opinion, there are already enough humans in the city, the concrete walls need a little nature to liven up and he’s here to paint this additional touch of nature over the streets of his home country.

Photo Credit: Guide to Iceland

Taking a downtown stroll, you’ll also be able to discover local artist, Sara Riel’s delicate and colourful pieces.

Photo Credit: Flickr User Chris Christian

Margeir Dire, also a local artist, produces eclectic pieces including this one-of-a-kind mural. While you’re at it, don’t miss happy hour at Bar Ananas, a tiki-themed bar that also showcases his colourful work.

Photo Credit : Chris Christian

Find Icelandic artist, now living in Berlin, Siggi Eggertsson’s first and impressive mural at the Iceland Design Centre.

Finally, head west to Vesturbær and Grandi. Originally an industrial area, the neighborhood has transformed into a trendy destination spot filled with boutiques, cafes and galleries. You’ll be sure to find some impressive, large-scale murals, including those by Australian artist, Guido Van Helten, who recreated snap-shots of Andrés Kolbeinsson showcasing Icelandic actors in a local 1961 production.

Photo Credit: Guide to Iceland

Photo Credit : Ufunk

Cover Photo Credit: I Heart Reyjavik | Piece by Caratoes, inspired by Ylja’s “Óður til móður” song.

Latest posts

Festival Mural

Cryptik – Sacred Street Art

The Mandalas’ aesthetic and spiritual value were a great source of inspiration for the creation of Mantradalas by street artist Cryptik.

Learn more +
Festival Mural

Studio Visit – Fvckrender

Post working with Fvckrender on MURAL 2018’s main stage design and the MURAL Live Sessions, we met up him at his studio to learn more about hi…

Learn more +
Festival Mural

#TravelTuesday – Hong Kong

Filled with world-class art galleries and exhibitions, Hong Kong is known as a premier destination for art where tradition and innovation live…

Learn more +

< Retour
Festival Mural

#TravelTuesday : Reykjavik

12 mars 2018

Au fil des ans, le street art est devenu une façon de faire revivre certains quartiers, une façon pour les artistes de s’exprimer dans l’espace public, une façon pour les activistes de faire passer un message, une façon pour les marques de montrer leurs couleurs et plus. De Miami à Lisbonne, en passant par Melbourne, le monde est devenu un immense canevas à découvrir.
Le blog du Festival Mural présente #TravelTuesday, une série de contenus à propos de destinations street art, dans laquelle chaque article explorera la culture d’art public d’une ville.

Malgré que ce soit la capitale la plus nordique du monde, les rues glaciales de Reykjavik sont décidément remplies d’oeuvres d’art, lui procurant une scène artistique publique des plus créatives et dynamiques. Avec de plus en plus de vols à bas prix se rendant en Islande, la ville a accueilli un grand nombre de touristes dans les dernières années. D’abord attirés par les paysages iconiques et uniques du pays, plusieurs touristes ont été agréablement surpris d’y découvrir également une scène artistique prolifique. En effet, la capitale islandaise se classe souvent comme l’une des plus innovantes dans le monde et, maintenant, Reykjavik a même été répertoriée comme la 9e ville la plus instagrammée pour son art de rue par Bombing Science.

Le milieu du street art à Reykjavik a atteint son apogée dans les années 90. À l’époque, influencé par la scène hip-hop, le coin favori des artistes de graffiti était Hlíðargöngin, un tunnel où plusieurs ont laissé leur marque. En effet, un responsable de la ville, Jóhann « Jói » Jónmundsson, avait conclu une entente historique avec la ville pour transformer ce tunnel en une place où les artistes de rue pourraient créer et montrer leur art en toute légalité. De nos jours, Jói n’est plus le curateur du tunnel, mais la ville a récemment ramené certains artistes de rue au Hlíðargöngin pour la Nuit annuelle de la culture de Reykjavik afin de redonner un peu de vie à ces murs.

Crédit photo : Albumm.is

Plus tard, le Heart Park a volé la vedette comme lieu de choix pour le street art. Pris en charge par des artistes de rue en 2008, après que le projet de construction d’un centre d’achats ait été annulé à cause d’une crise économique, le Heart Park est devenu le parfait canevas et l’un des emblèmes les plus importants du street art à Reykjavik. Incluant, grâce aux 3 artistes islandais Tanya Pollock, Tómas Magnússon et Selur, un terrain de jeux, un skate-park, un DJ booth, une scène, des tables de pique-nique et des bancs, le Heart Park était un environnement accueillant et créatif adoré par les familles, musiciens, skaters et plusieurs autres. Malheureusement, comme plusieurs autres oeuvres d’art publiques, cette impressionnante oeuvre ne fût que temporaire et a été démolie récemment. Comme plusieurs galeries n’accueillent pas la même exposition pour toujours, les oeuvres de la rue évoluent elles aussi continuellement. Heureusement, plusieurs artistes, touristes et locaux ont immortalisé les lieux avec un nombre incalculables de photos et vidéos.

Crédit photo : I Heart Reyjavik

Crédit photo : I Heart Reyjavik

De nos jours, une grande partie du street art que vous pouvez admirer à Reykjavik a été créée dans le cadre du festival Wall Poetry, une initiative de Urban Nation. En 2015 et 2016, l’organisation berlinoise a invité une dizaine d’artistes de rue internationaux accompagnés par les musiciens performant au Festival Airwaves pour créer des oeuvres inspirées des mélodies et des paroles. Longez les rues Laugavenur et Hverfisgata pour observer quelques poésies murales produites durant le Festival.

Crédit photo : Iceland Airwaves | Oeuvre par Li Hill, inspirée de la chanson “Pale Green Ghosts” de John Grant.

Crédit photo : I Heart Reyjavik | Oeuvre par D*Face, inspirée d’Agent Fresco.

Crédit photo : I Heart Reyjavik | Oeuvre de Tankpetrol, inspirée de la chanson “Over” de Gus Gus.

Crédit photo : I Heart Reyjavik | Oeuvre de DEIH XLF, inspirée de la chanson “Waterfall” de Vök.

Plus localement, vous pourrez aussi contempler les nombreuses oeuvres du populaire artiste de rue islandais, Selur, pour qui les animaux sont au coeur de ses oeuvres. Comme il le suggère, il y a déjà assez d’humains dans la ville, les murs de béton ont besoin d’un peu de nature pour les rendre plus vivants et il est là pour ajouter cette touche de nature dans les rues de son pays natal.

Crédit photo : Guide to Iceland

Prenez un détour downtown pour découvrir les oeuvres délicates et colorées de l’artiste locale, Sara Riel.

Crédit photo : Utilisateur Flickr Chris Christian

Découvrez-y aussi un autre artiste de rue local, Margeir Dire, et ses oeuvres éclectiques, incluant cette murale unique. Ensuite, rendez-vous pour le happy hour au Bar Ananas, un bar à la thématique tiki où vous retrouverez une autre de ses fameuses oeuvres colorées.

Crédit photo : Chris Christian

Retrouvez la toute première et très impressionnante oeuvre de cet artiste islandais vivant maintenant à Berlin, Siggi Eggertsson, au Iceland Design Centre.

Finalement, direction ouest vers Vesturbær et Grandi, qui sont originairement des quartiers industriels maintenant transformés en quartiers culturellement tendance remplis de boutiques, cafés et galeries. Vous êtes assurés d’y trouver quelques murales à grandes échelles, dont plusieurs de l’artiste australien, Guido Van Helten, qui a recréé des clichés pris par Andrés Kolbeinsson mettant en vedette des acteurs d’une production locale de 1961.

Crédit photo : Guide to Iceland

Crédit photo : Ufunk

Crédit photo: I Heart Reyjavik | Oeuvre par Caratoes, inspirée de la chanson “Óður til móður” de Ylja.

Derniers articles

Festival Mural

5 choses qu’on apprend durant une visite guidée officielle de MURAL

Tous les samedis et dimanches matins, Thom, natif de Montréal et guide touristique pour Spade & Palacio, amènent une douzaine de personne…

En savoir +
Festival Mural

Résumé de Pow! Wow! Worcester 2018

Ce qui rend ce festival aussi unique et admirable, c’est son objectif de supporter et d’inspirer la jeunesse de Worcester. Plusieurs des…

En savoir +
Festival Mural

CRUSH Walls // Empowering the community with Public Art

Du 3 au 9 septembre, la 9e édition de CRUSH Walls a rassemblé à Denver un collectif d’artistes locaux et internationaux impressionant. Centré …

En savoir +