< Back
Festival Mural

#TravelTuesday: Lisbon

11 April 2018

Over the years, street art has become a way for cities to revive neighborhoods; a means for artists to express themselves in a more public space; a platform for activists to broadcast their messages; a medium for brands to let their colours show. From Miami to Lisbon, to Melbourne, and everything in between, the world has become a large canvas to discover.

MURAL Festival Blog introduces #TravelTuesday, a street art destination content series, where each piece will explore an artsy city’s unique street art culture.

In the city of seven hills, walking might not be your go-to mode of transport. If renting a car, you are definitely missing out. Those steep streets hold numerous hidden pieces of art.

Well known as a destination spot for a street art scavenger hunt, Lisbon’s street art scene has been flourishing for decades. In the 70’s, Portuguese artists took the city as their canvas to express themselves, mostly motivated by political debates surrounding the era. While the murals inspired by the 1974 revolution disappeared over the years, Lisbon’s street art is still alive and well thanks to the city council. They saw early on the benefits of adding a colours to walls and façades, supporting local street artists with initiatives like the creation of the Galeria de Urbano Arte (GAU) and the CRONO Project.

Designed to regenerate the Bairro Alto, the GAU gave artists a legal place to create while respecting the neighborhood’s patrimonial and landscape values. Head to Bairro Alto, Calçada da Gloria and along the river to the South to discover the GAU’s series of legal murals created by local and international street artists.

Piece by Low Bros.

In addition to the regeneration of Bairro Alto project, the art gallery also launched the Muro Festival two years ago which brought many artists from Portugal and around the world to beautify the streets of Bairro Paddre Creuz and Marvila with over 50 new murals.

Piece by Felipe Pantone.

As for the CRONO Project, the popular event had a similar goal : commissioning artists to transform neglected buildings in the business district. Admire the artworks made by Blu, Vhils and many more well-known artists as part of the project on Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo, one of the most photographed street for its public art.

Piece by Blu.

Presently, the liveliest place for street art today in Lisbon must be Alcântara, an old industrial place in the West part of the city, transformed into a creative space called LX Factory. Filled with artworks from various leading Portuguese artists, such as Vhils, AkaCorleone, Mar and more, this area welcomes a great number of entrepreneurs, artists, musicians, freelancers, fashion designers and other creative minds.

Piece by Aka Corleone & Kruella d’Enfer.

As for the oldest street art pieces of the city, head out to the Amoreiras Graffiti Wall of Fame where some of the artworks date as far back as 1996.

Piece by Nomen.

Lisbon’s also home to one of the most reputed urban art gallery: the Underdog Gallery. Hosting shows for established and upcoming talents from around the world, the gallery is a must-see when exploring the city’s street art culture. Not to mention, they also offer guided tours to discover some of the most impressive interventions made as part of their public art program.

Piece by Finok.

In addition to being filled with amazing artworks, Lisbon is also home to many internationally known street artists such as Bordalo II, Vhils and Add Fuel, to name a few.

Notorious for turning waste into art as a critique to the consumerist world we live in, Bordalo II was born in the city and many of his “trash animals” can now be spotted in these streets.

Piece by Bordalo II.

As for Vhils, the established artist achieved his acclaim through Lisbon. With artworks reflecting the identity, Vhils became known for his one-of-a-kind carving technique.

Piece by Pixel Pancho & Vhils. | Photo Credit: © BrooklynStreetArt.com

Playing with the language of traditional tile design and the Portuguese tin-glazed ceramic azulejo, famous street artist, Add Fuel, is also Lisbon-born and his artworks are not to be missed when visiting the city and its surroundings.

Piece by Add Fuel.

To make sure you’re not missing anything, enroll in one of the many street art walking tours offered in the city or download the app “Lisbon Street Art”.

Latest posts

Festival Mural

Cryptik – Sacred Street Art

The Mandalas’ aesthetic and spiritual value were a great source of inspiration for the creation of Mantradalas by street artist Cryptik.

Learn more +
Festival Mural

Studio Visit – Fvckrender

Post working with Fvckrender on MURAL 2018’s main stage design and the MURAL Live Sessions, we met up him at his studio to learn more about hi…

Learn more +
Festival Mural

#TravelTuesday – Hong Kong

Filled with world-class art galleries and exhibitions, Hong Kong is known as a premier destination for art where tradition and innovation live…

Learn more +

< Retour
Festival Mural

#TravelTuesday: Lisbonne

11 avril 2018

Au fil des ans, le street art est devenu une façon de faire revivre certains quartiers, une façon pour les artistes de s’exprimer dans l’espace public, une façon pour les activistes de faire passer un message, une façon pour les marques de montrer leurs couleurs et plus. De Miami à Lisbonne, en passant par Melbourne, le monde est devenu un immense canevas à découvrir.
Le blog du Festival Mural présente #TravelTuesday, une série de contenus à propos de destinations street art, dans laquelle chaque article explorera la culture d’art public d’une ville.

Dans la ville aux sept collines, marcher n’est probablement pas votre moyen de transport favori. Par contre, vous manquez quelque chose dans le confort de votre voiture de location. En effet, ces rues à pic renferment une foule d’oeuvres d’art.

Actuellement reconnue comme étant l’une des meilleures destinations dans le monde pour une chasse à l’art de rue, la culture du street art de Lisbonne fleurie depuis plusieurs décennies maintenant. Dès les années 70, les artistes portugais ont pris la ville comme leur canevas pour s’exprimer, principalement motivés par les débats politiques entourant cette époque. Alors que les murales inspirées de la révolution de 1974 ont disparu au cours des années, l’art de rue de Lisbonne est toujours bien vivant grâce à un conseil municipal qui a rapidement vu les avantages de colorer les murs et façades et a supporté les artistes de rue locaux avec de multiples initiatives comme la création de la Galeria de Urbano Arte (GAU) et le Projet CRONO.

Bâti pour revigorer le quartier de Bairro Alto, le GAU a donné aux artistes un lieu légal pour créer tout en respectant les paysages et les éléments patrimoniaux des alentours. Dirigez-vous vers Bairro Alto, Calçada da Gloria et aux abords de la rivière au Sud pour découvrir une série de murales légales du GAU produites par des artistes locaux et internationaux.

Oeuvre par Low Bros.

En plus du projet de revigoration du quartier de Bairro Alto, la galerie d’art a aussi lancé le Festival Muro il y a 2 ans, lequel a amené de nombreux artistes du Portugal et de partout à travers de monde à embellir les rues des quartiers de Bairro Paddre Creuz et de Marvila avec plus de 50 nouvelles murales.

Oeuvre par Felipe Pantone.

En ce qui concerne le Projet CRONO, le populaire événement avait des buts similaires : travailler avec des artistes pour transformer des bâtiments négligés du quartier des affaires. Admirez les oeuvres de Blu, Vhils et plusieurs autres artistes reconnus faites dans le cadre du projet sur Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo, une des rues les plus photographiées pour son art public.

Oeuvre par Blu.

De nos jours, le lieu le plus dynamique en ce qui concerne l’art de rue à Lisbonne est probablement Alcântara, un ancien quartier industriel dans l’Ouest de la Ville transformé en lieu de création appelé LX Factory. Foisonnant d’oeuvres d’art créées par quelques artistes portugais reconnus, comme Vhils, AkaCorleone, Mar et plus, cet endroit accueille un nombre impressionnant d’entrepreneurs, artistes, musiciens, travailleurs autonomes, designers de mode et autres esprits créatifs.

Oeuvre par Aka Corleone & Kruella d’Enfer.

Pour ce qui est des oeuvres d’art de rue les plus vieilles de la ville, dirigez-vous vers le Amoreiras Graffiti Wall of Fame où quelques-unes des oeuvres datent d’aussi loin que 1996.

Oeuvre par Nomen.

Lisbonne abrite également une des galeries d’art urbain les plus réputées : la Underdog Gallery. Organisant des expositions pour des talents émergents et établis de partout dans le monde, la galerie est un incontournable quand on explore la culture du street art de la ville, sans oublier qu’elle offre aussi des tours guidés pour découvrir quelques-unes des interventions les plus impressionnantes produites dans le cadre de leur programme d’art public.

Oeuvre par Finok.

En plus d’être remplie d’incroyables oeuvres d’art public, Lisbonne est aussi la ville que plusieurs artistes de rue connus à l’échelle mondiale comme Bordalo II, Vhils et Add Fuel appellent leur chez-soi.

En effet, célèbre pour ses oeuvres faites de déchets critiquant notre société de consommation, Bordalo II est né dans la ville et plusieurs de ses “animaux déchets” peuvent être aperçus dans les rues de sa ville natale.

Oeuvre par Bordalo II.

En ce qui concerne Vhils, l’artiste maintenant bien établi, connu pour sa technique unique de sculpture reflétant sur le concept d’identité, a d’abord fait son nom dans cette ville.

Oeuvre par Pixel Pancho & Vhils. | Crédit photo : © BrooklynStreetArt.com

Jouant avec le langage du traditionnel design de tuiles et de la céramique portugaise azulejo, le fameux artiste de rue, Add Fuel, est lui aussi né à Lisbonne et plusieurs de ses oeuvres sont maintenant des incontournables lors d’une visite de la ville et de ses alentours.

Oeuvre par Add Fuel.

Pour être certain de ne rien manquer, suivez l’un des nombreux tours guidés de street art offerts par la ville ou téléchargez l’application “Lisbon Street Art”.

Derniers articles

Festival Mural

Unframed, épisode 5 : Ness Lee

Prochainement sur Unframed, on en apprend davantage sur l’histoire de Ness Lee.

En savoir +
Festival Mural

#TravelTuesday : New York

Notre équipe a décidé de retourner à la source en explorant l’une des premières destinations de street art : New York.

En savoir +
Festival Mural

Demsky – Portrait d’un artiste hypnotisant

Après avoir fait voyager ses oeuvres hypnotisantes dans plusieurs villes à travers le monde, c’est maintenant à Montréal que Demsky a fait son…

En savoir +